

For more information

Paul Neville MP, Committee

www.richardalson.dcita.gov.au

about the inquiry

Chair, 02 6277 4940

office 02 6277 7480

Sasha Grebe, Minister's

contact:

Web site

News Update

Radio industry inquiry

The Minister for Communications, Senator Richard Alston, has announced a broad ranging inquiry into the adequacy of radio services in non-metropolitan Australia.

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications, Transport and the Arts is asked to inquire into and report by 23 February 2001 on the adequacy of radio services in regional and rural Australia and the extent to which there is a need for the Government to take action in relation to the quantity and the quality of radio services in regional and rural Australia, having particular regard to:

- the social benefits and influence on the general public of radio broadcasting in nonmetropolitan Australia in comparison to other media sectors;
- future trends in radio broadcasting, including employment and career opportunities, in non-metropolitan Australia;
- the effect on individuals, families and small business in non-metropolitan Australia of networking of radio programming, particularly in relation to local news services, sport, community service announcements and other forms of local content, and;
- the potential for new technologies such as digital radio to provide enhanced and more localised radio services in metropolitan, regional and rural areas.



John Rimmer, Member (parttime), reappointed 10 August 2000 to 4 October 2004



Ian Robertson, Member (part-time), reappointed 10 August for a further four years



Robert Le Tet, Member (part-time), appointed 10 August for a three year term. Mr Le Tet has been chairman and chief executive officer of the Filmhouse/

Enternainment Media Group since the late 1970s. He is a former chairman or deputy chairman of a number of commercial radio stations in Melbourne in the 1980s and 1990s and co-founded EONFM, now known as FoxFM.

New members for the ABA

The ABA has two new part-time Members: Robert Le Tet and Malcolm Long, The current members of the ABA are:



Professor David Flint, Chairman, reappointed to 4 October 2004



Michael Gordon-Smith, Member, reappointed to 14 September 2004



Malcolm Long, Member (part-time), appointed 10 August for three years. Mr Long has extensive experience in the national broadcasting sector. As Managing Director of SBS from 1993 to 1997, Mr Long was responsible for the services provided by SBS radio and television throughout Australia.

7

Before joining SBS, Mr Long held various positions with the ABC, including Deputy Managing Director. He is a director of Pan TV Ltd which operates the World Movies pay TV channel. Mr Long currently works as a consultant on broadcasting communications and new media.

The terms of two former Members of the ABA have ceased: Mr Gareth Grainger and Ms Kerrie Henderson.

SEPTEMBER 2000